ZBrushCentral

Mercenary - Real Time Character By: Daniel Briggs

My name is Daniel Briggs, I am 22 years old. I am a character artist currently residing in Orange County, CA.

My goal was to create a character that could be rendered in real-time; One that could be used in a video game engine. I modeled a high poly sculpt using Zbrush, topogun, and 3ds max. Which I then converted to a low poly model. The entire character shares 1 UV space and the final textures were 2048*2048. Final renders were done using the Marmoset Engine.

This character is based off of a concept from Diablo 3, I wanted to make a character that stayed true to the concept, and true to the Blizzard art style. I feel like I have accomplished that.

My textures are 100% hand painted. Poly paint played a huge role in this process. Check out my website for higher res images of the textures!

http://www.3dbriggs.com

This is my final high poly sculpt. The proportions are much wider than the final low-poly version. I tried to make the character seem really strong and powerful in my sculpt.This is my High Poly sculpt rendered using several different mat caps, and some poly-paint. I comped everything in Photoshop and did some post work as well. This was a test to practice my hand painted textures.

Attachments

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

HighPoly.jpg

HighPoly_CloseUp.jpg

PaintOver_Concept.jpg

Turn.jpg

Turn_Wire.jpg

Wire_CloseUp.jpg

Wire_MidRange.jpg

High Poly sculpt of the character’s head. Head_HighPoly.jpgHead_High_Textured.jpg
Originally 2048*2048 - Diffuse, Specular, Norma, Alpha

This is the concept from Diablo 3 created by Blizzard Entertainment:Diablo_Concept.jpg
http://www.3dbriggs.com

Very nice work and true to original artwork.

What did you render the low poly in, because they are really good renders :slight_smile:

You’re goin’ places. This is a fantastic model. Thanks for sharing.