ZBrushCentral

Abel's Navel - a 3D sketchbook

Hi. My name’s Abel Oroz and I’m a concept artist from Spain. I’ve decided to make the jump to 3D, at least for fun and personal development for the time being, although in indie games where I work it is a huge plus to be able to do both (as opposed to AAA development, where everyone’s super-specialyzed). Anyway, I’ll be posting here my wips and sketches, and I encourage everyone to avoid condescendence and critique as hard as possible. I’ll try to do the same for people who demand it, as long as my schedule allows (not much time to wander in forums, heh).

So, here’s a first batch. Hope you don’t like it (so you criticize mercilessly) :wink:

Attachments

bust_sketch_3.jpg

foot.jpg

bodywip2.jpg

torso.jpg

plastizilla.jpg

zbrush.jpg

Zecko.jpg

daemon2.gif

bodywip2.jpg

torso2.jpg

I love your proportions. Reminds me a lot of streetfighter stuffs with the exaggerated hands and feet. Very nice. Not a big fan of the green shader you choose for the little monster, it’s a bit distracting and makes it much harder to read the character. On the first dude…demon thing with pointy teeth. I think if you add a sharper/deeper inset at the eye it should really help to bring out his eyes. Right now it just kind of flows into the upper eyelid without any real change in surface.

sidenote: Might want to put a mature audience label on this. I don’t really care, but someone, somewhere, might.

Hey, thanks a lot for pointing that out. Instead of putting a mature filter, since I don’t have any particular plans to do a ton of mature stuff, I have just applied a bit of self-censorship to spare the troubles mature filtering.

I totally agree in both of the things you mentioned. I’m not very fond in how I solved those eyes (pretty bland), and here’s another (milder to the eye) version of the plasticine godzilla :slight_smile:

plastizilla.jpg
Edit: Damn, editing the post won’t remove the Mature tag.

Another bust for practice