Default Sketchbook of Elliot Betancourt

Hello Guys and Gals,

My name is Elliot Betancourt, I am a Zbrush Hobbyist looking to digivolve into a 3D professional one day. I thought I would start my sketchbook with my introduction to the forums, and show one of my first Zbrush pieces. I have been using Zbrush independently for about 4 months, prior to that I had done a lot of practice within Maya and more technical kind of polygon modeling. I draw when I can (though not often enough) and I do traditional clay sculpture when I am not fiddling around in Zbrush. My goal for myself is to push my knowledge of the program as much as I can within this year and then try to compose a competitive portfolio early next year.

Below you will find my rendition of a Starcraft 2 Overlord based on the concept image drawn by Luke "Mr. Jack" Mancini. While this is my first true personal Zbrush sculpt I dont want to give the wrong impression that I just picked up Zbrush and banged this out. I have had some formal training with drawing and anatomy, I also take private lessons with an artist named Filipe Magalhaes. If you don't know Filipe's work he has done several tutorials on Digital Tutors and teaches full time, so he really has a structured way of getting someone familiar with the package. So with that said, I had an inkling of understanding of the package and brushes when I first tackled this sculpt. I welcome any and all criticism especially brutally honest criticism, I know the ZB Central community is very nice and supportive but please don't hesitate to completely shred my stuff (within reason ) and tell me what looks wrong or stupid. Honest and harsh criticism is the only way I feel I can get better as an artist.

So with that novel typed out please enjoy my sculpt and I will post more as I complete them. Thank you for your time and I look forward to all your feedback.

Default Guile Bust