1. #196
    Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Sadly the link in my email to get to the upgrade just times out. Got to wonder if all the hype was worth it when the servers can't cope...... BUT, as an OSX user it might be a blessing in disguise!

  2. #197
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Eastern U.S.
    Posts
    2,071

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thebest12 View Post
    DON'T USE ZMODELR BRUSH/ EDGE LOOP /SPLIN, BECAUSE IT WILL CRASH IT......i HAVE TRIED IT 10 TIMES
    Crashes with the the spin edge function are usually tied to tiny bits of extraneous or hidden geometry it is possible to inadvertently create with some of the other functions. Tiny, almost invisible ploygons that appear to be single edge, for instance. Every time I've gotten one of those crashes, I've found extraneous geometry in the problem area by deleting polygons and reconstructing it.

    For instance, don't use the slice function to split partially visible polygons, and go over the edge of the visible polygons. It will create such problematic geometry when everything is visible again.

    It is important to remember that Zbrush does not support N-gons. Therefore every operation MUST result in a quad, and will be forced to do so. It takes a bit of adjustment, but once you understand this, you can avoid many problematic actions.
    -Scott
    Formerly Known As Bingo Jackson

  3. #198
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Venezuela
    Age
    74
    Posts
    6,573

    Default

    i will love (and i hope so) the Gem Team will open/concentrate the tutorials/tips/trick in an special thread so we can learn from others and can reproduce or not some presumed errors, specially with the 64v.
    http://www.zbrushcentral.com/showthr...75#post1123275

  4. #199
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Eastern U.S.
    Posts
    2,071

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by higginsdj
    Sadly the link in my email to get to the upgrade just times out. Got to wonder if all the hype was worth it when the servers can't cope......
    Generally, people only crash servers when a lot of them do, in fact, deem a product to be worth the hype.

    Patience. We've waited this long, and within the next 24 hours most people will be sorted.
    -Scott
    Formerly Known As Bingo Jackson

  5. #200
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    358

    Default

    Due to the shear volume of excitement for our new product offerings, we're temporarily closing the store.
    This does not effect your activations or your upgrades.

    Thank you for your patience, we'll be back soon!***8203;
    The mind is like a parachute -
    it only works if it is open.
    Frank Zappa


    My Sketchbook

  6. #201
    Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Am I the only one still experiencing Surface-Noise crashes? Even on the new 64-bit......
    Everything else is working like a dream...just have to learn the new features.

    I really don't get the surface-noise crash though....I've re-installed and still have the issue..

  7. #202
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    245

    Default

    Crashes with the the spin edge function are usually tied to tiny bits of extraneous or hidden geometry it is possible to inadvertently create with some of the other functions. Tiny, almost invisible ploygons that appear to be single edge, for instance. Every time I've gotten one of those crashes, I've found extraneous geometry in the problem area by deleting polygons and reconstructing it.

    For instance, don't use the slice function to split partially visible polygons, and go over the edge of the visible polygons. It will create such problematic geometry when everything is visible again.

    It is important to remember that Zbrush does not support N-gons. Therefore every operation MUST result in a quad, and will be forced to do so. It takes a bit of adjustment, but once you understand this, you can avoid many problematic actions.
    i WAS WORKING ON A EVEN SIDED CUBE, AND IT STILL DOES IT NO MATTER WHAT. the GEOMETRY WAS NICE AND CLEAN NOTHING HIDDEN

  8. #203
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    13

    Default thanks Pixo...

    ...wow much awesome! Amazing release!

    However I'm having trouble with Zremesher, seems to be totally ignoring my guide curves, unless its wacked up to 100, which is different from Zr6, where it would detect the curve even at Curve Strength 50 anyone else experienced this? any other documentation I missed? (Im re-topologising a head btw)

    cant wait to get stuck into the new Zmodeler!

  9. #204
    Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    germany
    Age
    49
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Cry... Finally got my ZBrush activated and wanted to buy to hotly awaitat Keyshot and then the store gets taken down 8( Damn the Keyshot4Zbrush was what I wanted...
    ---
    Cheetah3D, ZBrush, Shade 3D

  10. #205
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Netherland
    Posts
    351

    Default

    Wow what an update!
    This one is a real knockout. Thanks a zillion.

  11. #206
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    3,046

    Default Just a little while longer

    First day was the worst, almost over, few more hours.
    Hang in.

  12. #207
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Eastern U.S.
    Posts
    2,071

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thebest12 View Post
    i WAS WORKING ON A EVEN SIDED CUBE, AND IT STILL DOES IT NO MATTER WHAT. the GEOMETRY WAS NICE AND CLEAN NOTHING HIDDEN
    Don't misunderstand me. It IS a very temperamental function, and it WILL crash repeatedly if everything is not to its liking. Most of the Zmodeller functions are pretty stable, but you should always save before attempting to spin an edge. I generally avoid it until Pixo gets more of the issues sorted out. They are aware of it.

    However, if you investigate further, I would not be surprised to find something is problematic with the cube. One thing that can happen is if you have the edge action set to spin, but have the polygon action set to some operation that adds geometry, and you miss the edge target and inadvertently add some invisible geometry to one of the adjacent faces, then spin edge will crash when you try it again. For some sensitive operations its helpful to set the other target options to "Do Nothing" to avoid any mishap in fine work.

    My only point was that Spin Edge *does* work, and when it crashes there is usually a reason for it (typically nearly invisible, extraneous geometry) even if it isn't immediately apparent. I just spun the face edge on this cube about 20 times with no issue:

    -Scott
    Formerly Known As Bingo Jackson

  13. #208
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Eastern U.S.
    Posts
    2,071

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hedron77
    However I'm having trouble with Zremesher, seems to be totally ignoring my guide curves, unless its wacked up to 100, which is different from Zr6, where it would detect the curve even at Curve Strength 50 anyone else experienced this? any other documentation I missed? (Im re-topologising a head btw)
    There should be a "whats new" PDF in your file directory somewhere. The ZRemesher behavior has changed in the new version. It is now MUCH less likely to generate spirals, and somewhat more accurate along hard edges, especially if you use the new polygrouping feature to influence edge flow, which is useful for remeshing hard surfaces.

    This will mean it behaves somewhat differently than you're accustomed to(usually for the better), and may take some time to get used to.
    -Scott
    Formerly Known As Bingo Jackson

  14. #209
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    13

    Default

    HI Scott,

    Thanks for that, I did already have a look at the Whats New guide, will try a few things though and see what happens...but its weird that the curves are totally ignored.

  15. #210
    Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    UK
    Age
    39
    Posts
    69

    Default

    So, finally was able to download and install it, but now the activation webpage is not loading (activating the 32-bit version, which should activate both)

    Hm, suppose i could wait another hour or two

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •