1. #1

  2. #2
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tempe, Arizona
    Age
    31
    Posts
    895

    Default

    nice thanks for sharing. I didnt see a way to control the thickness though?
    https://www.artstation.com/maximusin3d

    "There is no tomorrow!"
    -Apollo Creed

  3. #3
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Walvis Bay - Namibia - Africa
    Age
    60
    Posts
    782

    Default Gr8

    Great tip Thanks... but real measurements in ZB would be a major plus... even a heat map on set thickness' for printing... this showing one the danger areas... its all there but by working through third parties and online stores like Shapeways but gets tedious...
    ziggy@zerografx.com[COLOR=DarkOrange][B]
    www.zerografx.com[COLOR=DarkOrange][B]
    www.artstation.com/artist/ziggy[COLOR=DarkOrange][B]

  4. #4
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Hamburg
    Posts
    467

    Default

    Thank you very much but I dont quite understand the isolate part.
    How is this done?

  5. #5
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Cali-Colombia
    Posts
    1,156

    Default



    Ok, I made this video maybe can help, Thanks for watch.
    Regards.


  6. #6
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    1,379

    Default

    Nice! I pretty much use the exact same method, except I hide and flip the outer polys to face inside then extract for thickness using a setting of 1 for the smoothness. Then project the details again. Provides a fairly clean edge and does a fairly good job in most corner areas.

    Sigmund, you probably already know, but under the Geometry palate, there's a size tab which shows the exact size of a subtool. The workaround I use is to add a separate subtool, a cube or sphere, and set it to the desired thickness, then place it tangent against the model and compare the thickness of the results of the extract, or in this case, the Qmesh. It may not be exact, but you can usually get the thickness to within .002" of the desired size.
    Christopher Tackett

  7. #7
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Cali-Colombia
    Posts
    1,156

    Default

    Thank you, is good to know.
    Regards.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Vologda
    Age
    42
    Posts
    365

    Default

    I use Panel Loops. it really is a great way to get a shell


  9. #9
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Walvis Bay - Namibia - Africa
    Age
    60
    Posts
    782

    Default Thx

    Hi Christopher... Jip thanks for that, I know that a point on the system equals a mm and use Modo for most of my measuring, 1 meter in Modo eaqual 1 mm in ZBrush, but we are working in microns most of the time and yes I have bounding boxes and all... I just feel the program could cater for this or at least in newer version, would be a killer for jeweler market. Then a good heat map system like Shapeways will be a time killer, I currently up load to shapeways check my model, try and fix in ZBrush, re-upload and this can go on for 10 sessions at a time before Shapeways accepts, but their print is then virtually perfect...

    The technical jargon is what ZBrush has free us from leaving us time to create, so this would give me even more time...

    But it is a great program, the best...

    Thanks for the work around, I also use panel loops... I use panel loops for all my text creating to... and odd flat extrusions which I can later sculpt... very easy and saves a lot of time...

    Thanks guys...
    ziggy@zerografx.com[COLOR=DarkOrange][B]
    www.zerografx.com[COLOR=DarkOrange][B]
    www.artstation.com/artist/ziggy[COLOR=DarkOrange][B]

  10. #10
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Cali-Colombia
    Posts
    1,156

    Default

    Panel loops looks great! thanks for share.

  11. #11

  12. #12
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Cali-Colombia
    Posts
    1,156

    Default



    Play around zbrush+keyshot bridge, one piece no UVS, skin material.

  13. #13
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Cali-Colombia
    Posts
    1,156

    Default



    WIP - ZBrush + Keyshot bridge, new mesh paint only...

  14. #14
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Cali-Colombia
    Posts
    1,156

    Default



    Another shot, the textures are not finished yet, I'm going lazy those days...but keyshot is amazing for those renders.

  15. #15

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •