1. #16
    Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    50

    Default

    Thank you Marcus.

    "Yes We Scan"

  2. #17
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Springfield, MO
    Posts
    179

    Default

    Thank you Marcus much appreciated.
    *************************
    Digital Mapping & Graphics



  3. #18
    Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    50

    Default

    Thanks so much man, this script is amazing, just saved me a lot of hassle on a project.

  4. #19
    Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    43

    Default

    Hi Marcus, hopefully quick question...
    How does one go about accessing the Vertex and Polypaint data of a Subtool through the ZScripting?
    I assume it is through the MemoryBlock related functions, but the reference page doesn't seem to give any information about how you specifically find the memory block for the Subtool you want and on top of that how to access that sub information like Polypaint.

    Would you be able to give me at little hint at the least?
    Thanks!

  5. #20
    Moderator Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,462

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Invertex
    Hi Marcus, hopefully quick question...
    How does one go about accessing the Vertex and Polypaint data of a Subtool through the ZScripting?
    I assume it is through the MemoryBlock related functions, but the reference page doesn't seem to give any information about how you specifically find the memory block for the Subtool you want and on top of that how to access that sub information like Polypaint.

    Would you be able to give me at little hint at the least?
    The only way is to export an OBJ and parse the file for the data. (Or using the GoZ format but you would have to apply to Pixologic for the GoZ SDK.) There's no way to access the data from within ZBrush, unfortunately.

  6. #21
    Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    43

    Default

    Ahh ok, well that's a shame =C
    Do you know if there are plans to expand on core ZScript functionality in near future versions?

    As for SDK, I'm guessing I'd need that to create a custom .DLL like you've done here that could do the operations?
    So my only other choice is then to use:
    http://docs.pixologic.com/user-guide...ils/#launchApp

    To launch my exported object into my own executable which does the operations, and then reimport when it's done?

    Hope I'm on the right track, thanks!

    edit: \/ Thanks, I'll dig into that info a bit and make a new thread if needed, cheers!

  7. #22
    Moderator Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,462

    Default

    No, if you know some C++ you could write a DLL that you could access from zscript, without the need for an executable. It then wouldn't be too difficult to parse the OBJ file and get the data you need. There's a link here to some DLL code I posted recently. ZBrush likes the basic form of the function in that code, even though several of the parameters are not used.

    Once you have a DLL written you use the [FileExecute] command to access it, in much the same way as the ZFileUtils.

    Let me know if you have any other questions and I'll help if I can (but perhaps start a new thread in the ZScript Help forum ).

  8. #23

    Default Bug Report

    Rhino PLY files must be run through Autodesk Meshmixer for your import script to work in ZBrush, which gives an error -4. I've isolated the problem to an ASCII file format difference, in that changing "vertex_index" to "vertex_indices" fixes it in the following header line:

    property list uchar uint vertex_index
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/o3rep41u5e...ESTOO.ply?dl=0

  9. #24
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    349

    Question

    Hi,

    This plug-in sounds very interesting. Is this the only way to import a mesh with vertex colors to a ZBrush subtool with polypaint?

    Thanks,

    Metin
    visualization • illustration • 3D design — metinseven.nl

  10. #25
    Moderator Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,462

    Default

    You can use the FBX plugin to import an FBX file. If there's vertex color then it will be imported as polypaint.

  11. #26
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    349

    Thumbs up

    That's very useful info, many thanks!
    visualization • illustration • 3D design — metinseven.nl

  12. #27
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    1

    Smile

    Thanks marcus! It works so well.

    I'd like to print my stuff.
    Is there any way to resize?
    should I measure it in printing program?

  13. #28
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Springfield, MO
    Posts
    179

    Default

    Looks like it works in 4R8 P2.
    *************************
    Digital Mapping & Graphics



  14. #29
    Moderator Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11,462

    Default

    I've updated for 4R8.

  15. #30
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Malmo, Sweden
    Posts
    2

    Default problem

    Thank you for your effort! But I can´t get it to work :-(
    I used Agisoft Photoscan to create ply-file (if that is important to know) and when I try to import it, Zbrush says "An error occurred with PLY import. Error code: -4"

    Is there someone who knows what the problem could be?

    thanks

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •