1. #16
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    181

    Default

    The Windows Creators update fixed this issue...
    So no more hacks needed.....
    • I don't speak English "by default", so...
    Cinema 4D Discord Channel

  2. #17
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    On my boat
    Age
    44
    Posts
    3,374

    Default

    @Regnas:
    How do I make THAT happen?
    Im sick of this taskbar problem, it screws with EVERYTHING.
    nope...
    I don't know what I'm doing but I'm doing it anyway.

  3. #18
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    181

    Default

    @MealeaYing:
    Just do a regular update via Windows update, it should work...
    In my case I did a fresh install of Win 10, I downloaded the Win 10 ISO from the microsoft website...
    • I don't speak English "by default", so...
    Cinema 4D Discord Channel

  4. #19
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    On my boat
    Age
    44
    Posts
    3,374

    Default

    @Regnas
    I dont understand, Windows 10 took away the ability to do manual updates, and forces them on me even when Im using cellular data. Its one of the many things that make me livid about it and one of the reasons Im switching to Linux when this computer dies.
    How are you able to do manual updates?
    nope...
    I don't know what I'm doing but I'm doing it anyway.

  5. #20
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    181

    Default

    @MealeaYing:
    How are you able to do manual updates?
    Well, I do it the old fashion, by formating the partition with my previous Win 10 installation and then I use the ISO to reinstall everything from scratch.... Basically I'm switching the Operating system... It's pretty quick, about 1 hour job...
    • I don't speak English "by default", so...
    Cinema 4D Discord Channel

  6. #21
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    On my boat
    Age
    44
    Posts
    3,374

    Default

    um...
    I have three and a half terabytes of stuff on this thing, and your method of getting around Microsoft's idiocy is slightly impractical.
    At best.
    If I were going to do anything like that I would go back to Windows 7 and it would take most of a week I suspect.
    nope...
    I don't know what I'm doing but I'm doing it anyway.

  7. #22
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    181

    Default

    Yep, this is why I have a small partition just for the OS, which I don't install anything... Everything else, apps/files etc, they live on my other drives/partitions...
    And by the way, I'm running four operating systems on my machine, and one of them is the trusty Win 7 fully loaded, so I always have a place to rest if something is delaying my operation...
    • I don't speak English "by default", so...
    Cinema 4D Discord Channel

  8. #23
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    On my boat
    Age
    44
    Posts
    3,374

    Default

    Oh wow....
    THAT is a neat way of going about things....
    nope...
    I don't know what I'm doing but I'm doing it anyway.

  9. #24
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    On my boat
    Age
    44
    Posts
    3,374

    Default

    Actually Windows forced an update on me last night, and rebooted while I had a lot of projects open (again).
    It didn't fix the taskbar problem though.
    nope...
    I don't know what I'm doing but I'm doing it anyway.

  10. #25
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    On my boat
    Age
    44
    Posts
    3,374

    Default

    Ok this is frigging creepy.
    Windows is RIGHT NOW asking me if I want to be "One of the first to install Windows Creator Update".
    So...
    I dont even know what this stuff is, why, after what they did to my computer already I would want to let them at it again... or.... well anything.
    The idea that I have to let micrrosoft wreck more stuff and likely backup the backup of the backup they backed the last time they wrecked it just so the taskbar goes away while Im working is disturbing at best.
    The messed up thing is I thought I had their update servers and all the rest of microsoft firewalled, but I guess that's the nature of viral malware.

    Anyway I dont know what to do, last time I said "NO" they took over my computer and installed Windows 10 against my will.

    It's like they have a keylogger watching me talk about this update on here or something:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CreepyBastards.jpg 
Views:	96 
Size:	77.9 KB 
ID:	548300  
    Last edited by MealeaYing; 04-29-17 at 12:48 PM. Reason: Adding picture of creepy spyware mosnter
    nope...
    I don't know what I'm doing but I'm doing it anyway.

  11. #26
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    On my boat
    Age
    44
    Posts
    3,374

    Default

    Ok, it got even worse, they just tried to force it on me with another of those unclosable windows.
    I forced my computer to shut down and booted back up with no network, so it looks like Im back to fighting off unwanted updates instead of using my computer to draw stuff.
    nope...
    I don't know what I'm doing but I'm doing it anyway.

  12. #27
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    181

    Default

    Lol....
    But yeah, Windows update is a real mess... this is why Windows update is the first thing I disable after a clean install...
    • I don't speak English "by default", so...
    Cinema 4D Discord Channel

  13. #28
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    On my boat
    Age
    44
    Posts
    3,374

    Default

    How do you disable it? It doesn't seem to have a **** off button...
    nope...
    I don't know what I'm doing but I'm doing it anyway.

  14. #29
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    181

    Default

    Yeah, there's no a normal turn off setting, you need to kill the Windows update service itself....
    • I don't speak English "by default", so...
    Cinema 4D Discord Channel

  15. #30
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    On my boat
    Age
    44
    Posts
    3,374

    Default

    This is why hackers are important to the future of computing.
    nope...
    I don't know what I'm doing but I'm doing it anyway.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •