Talking April's (not the month) learning sketchbook

Hello everyone! As of today I'm opening this thread to show and share my journey through Zbrush.

I have very little to none experience with the software so I'm starting with simple (or so I think) tasks, so I can learn faster.

Here I'm trying to make a tilable stone/brick texture. As of now I just have the rocks sculpted but I'll updating with the texturing process too.

Any feedback, comment or tip is very appreciated. Also, if anyone has any advise on how to make cracks looks deep as if the rock splitted in two fragmets, I would be very thankful. I tried making that effect with the large rock on the bottom left but I'm not entirely convinced.

Thanks in advance guys, I'm really eager to learn a lot!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2016-12-01.png 
Views:	41 
Size:	187.6 KB 
ID:	528368  

Default Composing the tile

So... after doing that sculpt, I baked the tiles and did a little bit of compositing in photoshop and it's already starting to look a little bit better.

The first one is the basic "tile" and the second is the same tile in a 2x2 grid, so you can see how it works.

I'm already starting to see some details I could have improved in some parts, as you can see the repetition fairly easy in some cases...

An update here:

Worked directly on photoshop because I wanted to try adding more details and "fixing"some of the things I saw that I didn't like before.

Added som color variations by putting random blobs of color and then putting the l;ayer in color mode, lowering it's opacity. Not sure now where to go from here...

Would this count as a hand painted texture? What sort of charactericts do you think hand painted texture have to make them so?

Senior Member Follow User Gallery