ZBrushCentral

Sculptris Pro - tips, tricks & warnings

As an old Sculptris fart, I am in love with Sculptris Pro.

There are things to know and to obey, and I would love to see what you have to contribute as well.
What about those beta tester folks? :smiley:
Here are my experiences. Remember! I am new to Sculptris Pro as well :wink:

Tip #1 ā€œBasicsā€
Watch the demo video. ZClassroom Lesson - Getting Started with Sculptris Pro
You really should take at least the ten minutes for first video.

The video explains how Sculptris Pro works.
To explain from my old Sculptris point of view:

In the Stroke menu you find the Sculptris Pro tool.
As far as I understood: If you switch off ā€œAdaptive Sizeā€, and ā€œCombinedā€ you are almost at old sculptris mode.

The difference to sculptris: Instead of density silder, you have two sliders.
ā€œSubDivide Sizeā€ which was density for tesselation
ā€œUnDivide Ratioā€ for decimation. Sculptris had an reduce brush.
ā€œAdaptive Sizeā€ Switches the connection to Brush size & tesselation on and off .
ā€œCombinedā€ combines the result of the two sliders ā€œSubDivide Sizeā€ AND ā€œUnDivide Ratioā€ in one stroke.

So, whatever you do as your first steps in Sculptris Pro, if you want to understand whatā€™s going on, switch on (SHIFT+F) Polyframe!

Another nice source for better understanding:

Thanks DominiekDR for these Videos and thanks Erik for posting it here.

Tip #2 ā€œSP works relative to model sizeā€
ā€œSubDivide Sizeā€ & ā€œUnDivide Ratioā€ are working relatively to world space so to say.
The bigger the model the less it will be decimated by smoothing with ā€œUnDivide Ratio 3ā€ i.e.

Sometimes it is a good Idea to scale your model back into ā€œworkspaceā€, something like the default sphere i.e.
Be careful if you use Tool / Deformation / Unify.