New Member Follow User Gallery

Smile Painting Quality + More

Hello ,
    I am new to sculpting and modeling but I am enjoying it a lot so far. My only issue is that my brush on Sculptris is super pixelated and looks bad on my model, and is too pixel-y to be applied to small details I had . Some parts could not even be painted on or reached. How do I make the brush look good, or is this a limitation of Sculptris? Also, is there a way to make deep indentations, holes and crevices without the model inside glitching up? (It looks like a sphere inside another sphere when it does this and I Couldn't model an open mouth because of this). Thanks!

Senior Member Follow User Gallery

For the pixelated painting, it's most likely that you are using too small of a texture size for the model. When you first enter "Paint", you might want to increase the resolution all the way to the right until it reaches 2048 (or download the previous version from a few places and put it up to 4096). That should solve your painting issue.

As to part of the second question regarding holes, kind of...lol. Yes, you can make holes in Sculptris. But, it's not exactly the way you might be wanting. There are no boolean operations in Sculptris. For that, and if you want it free, look more towards Blender or Mesh Mixer. With Sculptris, creating a hole is quite simple, but it usually needs to be considered first before most of the sculpting begins. To begin with, starting with the sphere, turn off symmetry. From the front view, pull the mesh into a backwards "C" so that the mesh pulls out and back over where the imaginary symmetry line would have been. Turn symmetry back on and you now have a mesh with a hole in it. Using this method, you can now create a mesh with as many holes as you need.