1. #1
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Manhattan, New Yotk
    Posts
    4,494

    Default Not a real tutorial... merely a hint....

    When I just started with ZB this hint was very useful to me:

    If you know the IMAGE PLANE tool you know how easy it makes it to place, rotate, and scale image planes. However, it does not allow such comfort with other tools like spheres etc.

    Sometimes also the desire arrises to place, scale, rotate things with an absolute value. There is no 'obvious' way to do it but there is a way.

    Here it is:

    1. Open the Transform menu
    2. Open the INFO submenu
    3. CTRL-Drag the X,Y, and Z blocks to your desktop

    NOW, place an object. plane, sphere, whatever.....

    If you are NOT in 'T' (edit) mode but in Move, Scale, or Rotate mode, then you can enter values in the X,Y, or Z component blocks and your object will rotate, scale, move according to your absolute entries.

    In any case, the values are always updated in realtime and for me that's often very useful even if I do not change them manually.

    Intricate depth related moves are easier this way than trying to pinpoint a location with the mouse.

    One thing to remember regarding the scale figures is that they count from the center and thus are to be thought of like a radius rather than a diameter. My 800x600 sample has the size entries 400x300 because of that.

    You can save the settings as preference and keep the x,y,z on the desktop if you like.

    minihint.jpg

    It's a nice, but well hidden function.

    Let me know if you like this hint and if I should post some more like that.

    Have a great weekend!
    LemonNado

  2. #2
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    459

    Default

    Wow, really great tip.

    I was just struggling with this yesterday.

    Thanks!

  3. #3

    Default Great

    Excellent tip.
    Been teaching Zbrush for a year now and I didn't know that one...

    thanks!

  4. #4
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,660

    Default

    Good one .. thanks! And 'Yes', please keep finding/posting great scoff like this! Cheers.

  5. #5
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default In 3.1...

    I tried moving the x,y,z with ctrl drag and no luck...
    Was this only possible in the 2.0 version in your image or is there another way?
    N

  6. #6
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Manhattan, New Yotk
    Posts
    4,494

    Default

    Does not seem to work any longer...
    Lemo

  7. #7
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,626

    Default

    Did you press the Preferences:Custom UI:Enable Customize button first?

    Also, remember to press Ctrl+Shift+I to save the new layout.

    Sven

  8. #8
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Manhattan, New Yotk
    Posts
    4,494

    Default

    Now it works..... Dohhhh
    Thanks for pressing the 'Lemo should spend 5 more minutes trying before reply' button....
    Cheers
    Lemo

  9. #9
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default Yep..

    It worked...
    Very cool
    Thanks
    N

  10. #10
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    319

    Default

    wow good to know thanks lemo!
    zbrush is king

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •