ZBrushCentral

Scared Silly Entry by Matt Mitman

Managed to free up some time this weekend, so decided to enter the contest. Because I’ve waited till so late to start on my entry, just going to do a character instead of a full scene, and since I’m primarily a game artist, I plan on creating a lowpoly version and normal mapping it once the highpoly work is done. I’m not much for drawing polished concepts typically, so just did a quick ortho sketch before jumping into zbrush. Basic idea is a pumpkin man/scarecrow carving his own face.
[attach=73831]pumpkinMan.jpg[/attach]

And after 3 or 4 hours in zbrush:
[attach=73835]pumpkinMan_wip1.jpg[/attach]

So far its mostly done in zbrush, based off a base human mesh I had for the body and a sphere for the pumpkin. The initial vines and the shirt were laid out in topogun on top of the body sketch since I wasnt quite able to get them how I wanted just with zbrush. And now, back to work…

Attachments

pumpkinMan.jpg

pumpkinMan_wip1.jpg

Pretty much done with the highpoly modelling now, and put a base layer of color on everything.

pumpkinMan_wip2.jpg

Normal maps generated and applied to lowpoly (~5000tris) mesh created with topogun and max.

pumpkinMan_wip3.jpg

Really nice style you’ve got here, I likethe render and lighting. Looking forward to what else you’re going to do.

Pete B

Great Model, I think you have a great plan. How are you going to pose it, to make it “Scared silly”?

textures are done for now, mostly just a couple photo overlays on the base colors except for the leaf, which was a quick model in zbrush since I’ll probably use it in the final scene. For now, planning on keeping the scene fairly simple, abstract background, stool for him to sit on with maybe some vines crawling around his feet, and posed as if he’s carving the other eye out. I typically spend several days this time of year carving pumpkins (didnt get around to it this time though) so it seems appropriate to me :slight_smile: