1. #1
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    227

    Default export/import script

    Hi

    I hope this is the right place to post.

    I'm looking for somebody who can write me two scripts.
    one script for exporting the active tool to c:\temp meshes\1.obj
    and another script for importing the same mesh again.
    the script should export/import the mesh directly without any dialoges etc.
    it would be nice if the script would disable grouping, before exporting.

    I have the same two scripts for 3ds max and this would speed up my workflow alot. You wouldn't need to search for folders/files etc. anymore. just one click in max and one click in zbrush

    I attached the maxscripts.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Cral; 07-29-08 at 05:24 AM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,626

    Default object out and in

    Unzip the attached zipfile into your Startup\Zplugs folder and restart ZBrush. You will find two new buttons at the bottom of the Tools menu:

    OBJ out and OBJ in

    Yup... should do what you want. (use the included .txt script to further customize the source for your purposes.)

    Sven
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    227

    Default

    works perfectly

    thanks alot

  4. #4

    Default

    Very nice!

    Also another ncie thing is that it does not complain about vertex order or number. Is this a feature or a bug?

  5. #5

  6. #6

    Default

    It's now work , thank Svengali

  7. #7
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    3

    Default Import not working on Macintosh osx

    Hi guys

    i tried to use it for Mac but the problem is, the "Obj out" ( Export ) is working fine but the "Obj in" ( Import ) is not working, saying the file is does not exist, and i made sure from the path and the file do exist, any idea why ?

    thank you for your help

    Ali

  8. #8

    Default Export works, Import doesn't any help?

    I posted a screen shot of the error message I get when I click import.

    Can't bring files between Maya and Zbrush.

    To my knowledge my paths are all correct. Below is the script text, only thing I changed was the file name to read temp_01 and my location where I'd like the files to be stored temporarily.

    // ObjOutIn.txt - Svengali July 08
    // load and save Object File = temp_01
    // Groups disabled on save
    // buttons located in Zplugin:Misc Utilities submenu


    [IConfig, 3.1 ]
    [IShowActions, 0]


    [VarDef, Object1, "E:\temp meshes\temp_01" ]


    [IButton,"TOOL: OBJ out","Export model as temp_01",


    [If, [IGet, TRANSFORM:Edit] == 1,
    [ISet, TOOL:Export:Grp, 0 ]
    [FileNameSetNext, Object1 ]
    [IKeyPress, 13, [IPress, TOOL:Export:Export ] ]
    [Note, "Model Saved as temp_01...", , 2 ]
    , // else
    [Note, "No model in edit mode...", , 2 ]
    ]


    ]


    [IButton,"TOOL: OBJ in","Import model temp_01",


    [If, [FileExists, Object1 ] == 1,
    [FileNameSetNext, Object1 ]
    [IKeyPress, 13, [IPress, TOOL:Import:Import ] ]
    [Note, "model temp_01 has been loaded...", , 2 ]
    , // else
    [Note, "Sorry, temp_01 does not exist...", , 2 ]
    ]


    ]
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	errorMessage.png 
Views:	52 
Size:	202.0 KB 
ID:	619617  

  9. #9
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Did anyone solve problem with import on Mac OS?

  10. #10
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default Error with Import on Mac

    I'm having the same problem on a Mac. I get an error message on import. I'm not a programmer but I'm reasonably sure it has something to do with how the path to the object is written, although I'm not smart enough to know what's actually wrong. But it's the only thing I've changed in the script.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •