ZBrushCentral

Featured Member: P^T (Mauro Patrizi)

[attach=116692]Banner[/attach]

Today we have the pleasure of interviewing Mauro Patrizi (known here at ZBC as P^T). Not only is he a talented artist in his own right, but he has also been the number one contributor to what is now the MatCap Library. This obviously made him someone who makes use of ZBrush in all its aspects, and we were excited to learn more. And what better timing than the same week that the Library launched? Enjoy!

As always, I like to start with an artist’s background. Could you first share something of your personal background?
Yes, my background is full of important events which have contributed to my professional development. There are many things that I have done which have helped me to better understand art and production techniques, in order to realize a project. I have experimented a great deal within the artistic sector, being driven simultaneously by a thirst for knowledge and by the sheer enjoyment of creating something.

Since I was 16, I have continued to both study and work. I went to the Artistic Lyceum and then to the Academy of Fine Arts. I gained top results in both. (Although I did not exactly study too hard. The trick? I listened hard in class!) At the Academy, I gained two First Class highly specialized degrees; the first in Visual Communication and the second in Computer Graphics.

I have always lived in Porto San Giorgio, Italy where I have now opened my own studio which provides 3D modeling and animation services.

[attach=116693]The Dream[/attach]

And now for your professional background!
I started working from an early age, as a graphic artist for a company. Much of the work I did involved retouching photographs. Gradually I came to 3D. Fascinated by this new and previously unexplored world I realised my very first animation at the age of 18. But if I see it now I feel bad because it is so awful!