1. #1
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    166

    Default Mitch and Floyd

    I did this bust for the Post Apocalyptic Muties sculpting challenge over at Game Artisans.org. The bust started with zspheres... quick retop and finished the sculpt from there. Exported into Modo for the render.

    ZBC-Thumb1.jpg

    post_apoco_03.jpg

    post_apoco_construction_large.jpg
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	thumb.jpg 
Views:	667 
Size:	8.7 KB 
ID:	176828  

  2. #2
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    757

    Thumbs up Great work

    Hello,
    Very nice work and a great render.

    I am just learning Modo, 32bit on my mac. For a render I tried a simple decimation, not displacement maps, but Modo/32bit could not handle anything over 400 thousand polygons. But your render looks fantastic.

    Are you using 64bit Modo on windows?

    Thanks for posting,
    Brandon

  3. #3
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    166

    Default

    Thank you. I'm using Modo 64bit on windows.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    León, Mexico
    Age
    32
    Posts
    757

    Default

    Fantastic concept!!, very original and creepy!, but i like so much

  5. #5

    Default

    the render looks awesome and i really like the sculpt.

  6. #6

    Default nice work

    detailing is good
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ozPoPpB0qI

    my work

    the last enemy that shall be defeated is death

  7. #7
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    398

    Default

    Hey blawless, in modo check your "geometry cache" setting, its in prefernces general? (don't have modo at work). I think the default is 1GB, goes up to 4GB I think. This may help you out. I know i've brought 1 million poly meshes into modo. I'm also running an 8800 GT. Hope that helps.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    166

    Default

    Thanks guys. I have my geometry cache up to 5GB but if I'm not mistaken I think the geometry cache has to do with rendering displacements. I could be wrong. I didn't use a displacement map and just imported the model after shaving a few polys off with decimation master. I too only have a 8800GT and was able to pull in 2.4million polygons and navigation wasn't too bad.

  9. #9
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Really nice work!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •